Responsible Pet Ownership
A new pet can provide you and your family members with more unconditional love than you can imagine! Please remember that acquiring a pet is a lifetime commitment and should be well thought out. A responsible owner is committed to providing compassion and care to their companion.
Michigan Animal Law
- Dogs, cats and ferrets need to stay current on rabies vaccinations.
- The owner of a dog 4 months old or older must have a current dog license. (See the bottom of the page for additional information regarding licensing.)
- The following links are in regards to specific animal welfare laws in the state of Michigan.
Most of Marquette County's townships and cities have specific animal ordinances. Be sure to check with your local authorities to ensure you are compliant.
If you have concerns regarding an animal cruelty or neglect situation, please contact your local police station, or you may contact UPAWS (906) 475-6661 for direction on how to address the situation.
Pets should always be supervised during time spent outdoors. Allowing your pet to run loose can result in injury or death by a wide variety of dangers; including cars, other animals, disease and chemicals. You should also check your local ordinances to be sure you comply with leash laws.
Although we discourage pets being left outdoors unattended for prolonged periods of time, pets left outdoors must be provided with water, food, and adequate shelter to protect them from the elements.
Pets are more subject to heat stress than people. Never leave them unattended in a car.
For the safety of your pet and the safety of people your pet may come into contact with, it is best to keep the animal confined to your own property.
Give your pet a collar with identification tags.
Please clean up after your dog and dispose of the waste appropriately.
To comply with state law, be sure to obtain a dog license.
Not only is licensing your dog a law, it also provides identification to easily return them to their owner, should they stray from home.
From January 1st to May 31st of each year, a dog license can be purchased for $6 (spayed or neutered) or $12 (unaltered) at your city or township hall. After June 1 the price of a license doubles and must be purchased at either the Marquette County Treasurer's Office, or the Upper Peninsula Animal Welfare Shelter. (Licenses can be purchased at any time during the year from UPAWS.)
The application for a license must be accompanied by a valid certificate of a current rabies vaccination signed by a veterinarian.
City and Township contact numbers
Chocolay Twp. 249-1448 Negaunee Twp. 475-7869
Forsyth Twp. 346-9217 Republic Twp. 376-8827
Ishpeming City 485-1091 Richmond Twp. 475-4180
Ishpeming Twp. 485-5411 Sands Twp. 249-9169
Marquette City 228-0430 Skandia Twp. 942-7400
Marquette Twp. 228-6220 Tilden Twp. 486-6580
Michigamme Twp. 323-6608 West Branch Twp. 942-7400
Negaunee City. 475-7400
Residents in Champion, Ely, Ewing, Humbolt, Powell, Turin and Wells Township can get a dog license at the County Treasurer's Office or at UPAWS.